The Louis Armstrong Award Recipients

Each year one Jazz student is selected by their peers to receive the Louis Armstrong Award. This person best exemplifies the spirit of drive, passion, and commitment necessary for the study of jazz.

Louis Armstrong Award Recipients:

1998 David Silver

1999 Wayne Kilgard

2000 Jeff Claypoole

2001 Alex Scott

2002 Alex Plessinger

2003 Nathan Hershey

2004 Jeff Barnhart

2005 Kevin Fraser

2006 Sam Hershey

2007 Jeff Wyckoff

2008 Robert Knueven

2009 Austin Mackey

2010 Gunnar Gidner

2011 Marie Knueven

2012 Michael Dudley


Guest Artists

Lakota East Jazz Bands have hosted jazz greats such as Rick Van Matre, Phil DeGreg, Hal Melia, Drews Mitchell, Steve Whipple, Bill Burns, Jerry Robinson, and Ron Jones as guest performers/clinicians. Lakota East jazz students are consistently selected to perform with the OMEA All-State High School Jazz Ensemble and the OMEA District XIII Honor Jazz Ensemble.